A Christmas Bright and Sweet

DSCN6634

Hi Friends!

Twas the night before Christmas,

when all through the house,

Not a creature was stirring,

not even a mouse;

The stockings were hung

by the chimney with care,

In hopes that Saint Nicholas

soon would be there.

                          ~Clement C. Moore

DSCN6632

The Christmas day is dawning;

Our carols now we sing;

And pray the coming season

May peace and gladness bring.

To every one, and all of yours,

We wish a merry day,

And hope some of its pleasures

Through all the year may stay.

~ L. A. France

DSCN6636

I heard the bells

on Christmas Day

Their old familiar

carols play,

And wild and sweet

The word repeat

Of peace on earth

good-will to men!

~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

DSCN6640

I will honor Christmas in my heart,

and try to keep it all the year.

~ Charles Dickens

DSCN6639

 

DSCN6642

Wishing family and friends,

near and far,

a wonderful season of celebration!

Your friendship, visits, and comments

are gifts that I truly treasure

today…  and always!

 

Heartfelt gratitude,

♡ Dawn

P.S.   To learn more about the Poinsettia ~ History and Legends, please stop to visit my friend, Claire Jones, at The Garden Diaries. What a fascinating post! Claire is one of my favorite gardening experts! ♡

19 thoughts on “A Christmas Bright and Sweet

  1. Beautiful thoughts and beautiful photos of poinsettias, dear Dawn. I’ve never seen striped poinsettias—just lovely. Have a wonderful Christmas, my friend. It has been wonderful getting to know you and your sweet spirit. ♥

  2. Such beautiful flowers and such beautiful words! Merry, merry Christmas to you, your family and your friends! Thank you so much for this lovely post!

  3. Heartfelt thanks for your sweet words, Deb! Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas! So happy you stopped to visit today. ♡

  4. Sending warmth and cheer to last through the year, Gert! So happy that you stopped to visit today. Wishing you and Tom a very Merry Christmas and a New Year filled with good health and happy days! ♡

  5. Oh, thank you, Penny! I visited the Christmas flower show at Conservatory with a dear friend on my birthday. So, the photos are filled with much love and sweet memories! ♡ Those are some of my very favorite Christmas quotes. Wishing you a lovely holiday celebration filled with family and friends. Oh, the fun times you will have with Kezzie and Ezra! 🙂 Merriest Christmas, dear Penny! ♡

  6. Dawn, such a lovely collection of songs and poems. I love the pink cyclamen. They always remind me of my mom. That’s an amazing “tree” of Poinsettia. I’ll click over to the blog you’ve linked next.

    Merry Christmas.

  7. Many thanks, dear Alys! Cyclamen are such beautiful Christmas flowers. I just love their heart-shaped leaves, too. I think you will really enjoy all of the interesting facts Claire shared about Poinsettia in her post. Can you grow Poinsettia in your California garden? Hope your Christmas is a lovely one! ♡

  8. Just beautiful festive flowers. I love poinsettias, but for some reason, the leaves on mine just turn dry and fall off. The flowers always stay intact, but the leaves drop almost every single day.

  9. Thank you, Loretta! So glad you stopped to visit. I photographed these flowers in a nearby Conservatory. I hope one of our friends here can share some advice about your Poinsettias. We have a lot of flower lovers here! ♡

  10. Most of the Poinsettia we get here are greenhouse grown and kept indoors. They don’t do well once introduced outside, nor do they generally last past the season due to dry heat indoors over the winter. That said, I kept one alive indoors for over a year, but once I took it outside it was done for.

  11. Many thanks, Michele! I’m so happy you stopped to visit today. It’s so nice that our blogs have connected us so that we can share our passion for gardening! Sending big hugs for a Happy, Healthy New Year! ♡

  12. I always think poetry is quite perfect at Christmastide and your selection is lovely. I especially love the Poinsettia tree. It brings to mind one of my few Christmases in America and seeing the giant living trees made from red, pink, and white Poinsettias at Lynnhaven Mall in Virginia Beach. The first time I ever saw either a white or pink Poinsettia was actually in the Smithsonian Institute in January 1985! I am quite smitten with pink ones, but they are impossible to find locally. Isn’t it funny how memories can be triggered this way? Here’s to friendship and creating many more memories to cherish in the coming year! Deb xoxo

  13. Heartfelt thanks, dear Deb! It was such fun to share some of my very favorite Christmas poetry. I love pink Poinsettia, too! Over the years, both Poinsettia and Cyclamen have been a special part of both my birthday and Christmas celebrations. Both flowers hold such special memories for me! You are so fortunate to have celebrated Christmas in different parts of the world, Deb. Our friendship is one of the blessings of blogging and so dear to my heart. Celebrating together keeps faraway friends close at heart. So, I will toast you with a cup of tea when the New Year arrives in Wales tonight. Wishing you a Healthy, Happy New Year! ♡

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

