A Moment in Time

Spring Anenomes dance in the late May breeze.

Hi Friends!

Rabbit! Rabbit!

June, June, Hooray, it’s June…

Wishing you a whole new month of sunny days in the garden!

The magical month of May really flew by quickly! Although I spent many happy hours in the garden, rainy days kept me inside much more than usual the past few weeks. There were so many days when I could only enjoy the garden through the windows, as the raindrops trickled down the glass panes.

Luckily, I knew where to find a ‘sunny’ spot, even on the rainiest of days. With a cup of tea in hand, I happily disappeared into the ‘Paper Garden’ ~ my little papercrafting studio downstairs. The bright ‘sunshine’ of daylight bulbs and colorful, dried flowers and herbs (from last year’s garden) hanging from the ceiling rafters, inspired creative ideas to bloom. Creating cheery cards and playing with watercolors are two of my favorite ways to create my own sunshine in spite of the weather outside.

Between downpours, my camera lens captured some favorite ‘moments in time’ in the garden last week. The final week of May was a very colorful one in our Midwest cottage garden. What fun to fill vases with flowers to bring some of the garden inside!

..

Anemones were breathtaking in the early evening sunlight. I filled small vases with dainty bouquets of Anemones and Dianthus.

Pale purple iris in bloom

Irises were the first flowers to bloom in my Friendship Garden. They always remind me of a very special friend!

The delicate blossoms of Cranesbill Geranium, Lilies of the Valley, Daisies, Allium, and Spirea add color to the garden in mid to late May.

The delicate blossoms of Cranesbill Geranium, Lilies of the Valley, Anemones, Daisies, Allium, and Spirea added soft color to the garden in late May.

Bright pink Rhododendron

This Rhododendron holds fond family memories. Originally a gift from a neighbor, it grew in my mom’s garden while I was young. Before my parents moved across the country, they dug up the Rhododendron and brought it to me. I just love the sweet family memories it adds to my garden today!

Bleeding Hearts, Columbine, Cranesbill Geranium, and Peonies added pops of color to our old-fashioned cottage garden in late May.

Delicate Bleeding Hearts, blue and pink Columbine, and bright Peonies added pops of color to our old-fashioned cottage garden in late May. This Peony plant was already growing in the garden when I moved here 28 years ago. Caring for plants that are a part of our home’s long history is really an honor!

As meteorological summer begins, the first week of June predicts delightful days in the garden!

A full week of sunshine is expected, as our temperatures gradually warm up.

I can hardly wait!

There is so much gardenkeeping to do everywhere I look.

Dandelion seed head

Dandelions have really been flourishing in all of the rain, too.  (Just keeping it real!)

As always, there are challenges in the garden. Creeping Charlie (ground ivy) is invading our lawn and making its way over the mulch and into the flower beds. A friend, who often sees me pulling out these bothersome vines, says that we have ‘Galloping Charlie.’ I agree! Our other big challenge in the neighborhood is an abundance of hungry groundhogs (woodchucks) who think of our garden as a salad bar. It must be groundhog GPS that leads them right to the newly planted perennials and alerts them to tender, tasty blossoms to nibble. If only we could train the groundhogs to develop a taste for Creeping Charlie! It would be a gardener’s dream-come-true!

What challenges are you facing in your garden as spring turns to summer?

⚛⚛⚛

Take delight in those small

moments in time

that have never been seen before,

and shall never be seen again!

Wishing you a day filled with joyful moments!

♡Dawn

28 thoughts on “A Moment in Time

  1. LOL! The comment about groundhogs and creeping charlie made me laugh: I often wish the slugs and snails would take a liking to my ground elder which spreads like wildfire! 😉 I love the quote you chose… spring has flown by so fast here too – as always. Now the heat is on the way and the main chores have been done for a while.

  2. Oh Dawn, how lovely are your musings and photos on this first day of June. RABBIT RABBIT!

    Enjoy the beginning of a new season. Anita

  3. Good morning. Happy June 1. I have had similar blooms fill my garden this past month. Now the iris are about over and the day lilies will take the stage. As to ground hogs they leave the gardens alone (not sure why except there are the woods to keep them occupied for now) but have liked to dig under our deck which is one step off the ground. I have them out for now and have 1/4″ hardware cloth to put down as the final deterrent. My handyman helper was supposed to do that last week but I didn’t hear back from him. May save myself the money and do it myself if I can get my husband to move the heaviest stepping stones out of the way.

  4. Rabbit, Rabbit, Cathy! Wishing you a wonderful month ahead! The snails and slugs would find lots to love in your beautiful garden in Bavaria. I know what a challenge they can be, too. Emerson’s words were perfect for this time of year in the garden, weren’t they? Our first morning in June is chilly, but it will warm up each day. Glorious sunny days all week long! So happy that you stopped to visit today, Cathy! ♡

  5. Rabbit, Rabbit, dear Anita! June must be one of your favorite months of the year. Now you will have much more time for creative play with words and images. Hope the sun will shine brightly in Minneapolis this week, too! Wishing you happy days in your garden! ♡

  6. Rabbit, Rabbit, Jodi! Thanks so much for stopping to visit today. Wishing you sunny, creative June days in Mars, Jodi! ♡

  7. Rabbit, Rabbit, Marcia! Your bloom times are a bit ahead of ours. Iris is just beginning here, and my day lilies usually bloom around Father’s Day. Thanks for the great tip about using hardware cloth to prevent the groundhogs from digging under the deck. Will you bury it under the soil, or secure it? It would be great if the hungry groundhogs didn’t have a B&B here, too! Wishing you lovely moments in time all month long, Marcia! ♡

  8. Your plants looks beautiful. My biggest challenge in May was water because we have been in a drought. But, for the past two days we’ve been blessed with a nice steady rain. Now the next challenge will be the galloping weeds which seem to survive regardless. 🙂

  9. Rabbit, Rabbit, Judy! So happy that your garden has had a weekend of much-needed rain. Yes, the weeds always seem to thrive no matter what ~ under huge snowpiles, through lengthy drought, or with an abundance of rain. I think we will both be doing lots of weeding this week, Judy! Look out, weeds, here we come! ♡

  10. Your flowers are beautiful! It is so hard staying ahead of creeping charlie! We also have aspen trees that are always shooting runners. Love the trees though. We’ve had so much rain that the greenery is great but the flowers are slow. They are just starting to pop. As least they aren’t torched in the heat!

  11. Dawn,
    I had to laugh, if only we could train the hedgehogs to eat the creeping charlie! Isn’t that the truth!? Our biggest obstacle this summer in the garden will be a shortage of water. I’m planting only a few new things and only if they pass the “drought tolerant” test. I’ll be living vicariously through your and other online gardens this summer. 🙂
    xo,
    Karen

  12. Rabbit, Rabbit, Ana! Many thanks for your sweet words. At the moment, it’s still a bit chilly. We even had to turn on the furnace over the weekend! Our temperatures have been climbing all day today, so it is finally starting to feel more like summertime in the Midwest! Thanks so much for stopping by, Ana, and bringing a little Florida sunshine our way! Wishing you lovely moments in time today! ♡

  13. Rabbit, Rabbit, Julie! Thanks so much for stopping by today! Before long, your garden will be filled with colorful flowers. It seems to happen over night! My battle with Creeping Charlie will go on forever I think. It was my morning workout today! It’s so nice to have a sunny day in the garden… at last! Wishing you sunny June days in the garden and the kitchen, too! ♡

  14. Rabbit, Rabbit, Karen! So cute to imagine hedgehogs in the garden! I wonder if gardeners in the English countryside have problems with hedgehogs eating their flowers? Our neighbors are groundhogs (woodchucks) ~ very hungry ones! It’s unbelievable to hear all of the news about the drought in California. Our thoughts are with all of the people who are suffering and must make real lifestyle changes. I know that your garden is evolving as a result of the drought. Please enjoy our flowers, Karen!! The thought of sharing them with you warms my heart. Enjoy the first day of June! ♡

  15. We had a few days of heat..I am not ready for it. but then last night a little thunder and lightening and rain to follow along with coolness.. Yay! Lovely garden.. We have newer plants but things are moving right along.

  16. Rabbit, Rabbit, Mother Hen! Hope your cooler days last a little bit longer. It sounds like your garden is growing… just like your family! Wishing you all the best in the month of June. ♡

  17. Those irises are luscious. I read this earlier, then my day overcame me, Dawn, but, not before the rhododendron captured my imagination. Galloping Charlie! I must remember that. It is abundant this year. We don’t use chemicals on the lawn, therefore, no lawn but lots of Galloping Charlie. I’m struggling with keeping it out of the flower beds, but, the deer remain the greatest struggle. They managed, when I wasn’t looking, to eat all of the day lilies. Sigh.

  18. Hi, Penny! The Irises really shine this morning in the early light. In my Friendship Garden, there are pale purple Irises, yellow Irises, and deep purple Siberian Irises ~ all gifts from friends’ gardens. It warms my heart to see them in bloom. If only there was a way to keep the Galloping Charlie from racing into all of the flower beds! (I don’t want to put in hard edges.) Oh, no! Deer must be the hardest challenge of all in any garden. (In the desert Southwest, the Javelinas roam at night to eat up the garden plants ~ even the prickly ones!) So sorry to hear about your day lilies. Yesterday I added three Bee Baths to the garden. It was such a happy thing! Hope the bees will stay longer now, with a special water source of their own! Enjoy the sunshine, Penny! ♡

  19. I so understand about the rain but it looks as if sunny days are ahead. I love pass-a-long plants and I have many that friends have given me over the years. I treasure them so much!
    Brenda

  20. Hi, Brenda! The sun is shining over our garden here and it feels so wonderful to be busy weeding again. Pass-a-long plants are such lovely gifts of friendship! I always remember who they came from, and think of those friends while I am in the garden. Enjoy sunny days in your garden, Brenda! ♡

  21. Hi, Jan! I have only seen one small rabbit nibbling the clover in our backyard. Here it’s the hungry groundhogs that think of my flower gardens as a colorful, all-you-can-eat salad bar. So happy that you stopped to visit today! Wishing you sunny days in your garden, Jan! ♡

  22. Dawn,your garden looks fab, our anemones here in New York haven’t bloomed yet so your flowers are definitely more advanced.

  23. So nice to have you visit today, Anne! Our rainy June has made the garden flourish! Wish you could come for tea in the garden. We could pick herbs to brew a pot of tea and enjoy your Victorian Sponge cake, as the flowers dance in the breeze around us! Have a great weekend, Anne! ♡

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

