All Abuzz…

Bee on Cranesbill Geranium blossom

Our garden is all abuzz this week!

Hi Friends!

What a roller coaster of a week in the garden! We have had stormy days, humid days, cool days, and gusty days. Finally, today was a picture perfect day in our Midwest garden! The sun shone brightly, with just a hint of a breeze, on this late May morning. With over two inches of rain over the past few days, everything has grown by leaps and bounds… especially the weeds.

A day like today could mean only one thing, gardeners were as busy as bees catching up. Mowing the lawn, trimming bushes, and weeding, weeding, and more weeding filled the day. As I stopped to admire the sweet, periwinkle blossoms on a huge clump of perennial Cranesbill Geraniums, I noticed so many bees hard at work, too.

Collage of bees collecting pollen from Cranesbill Geranium blossoms.

Bees were busy collecting pollen from the blossoms of Cranesbill Geranium ‘Johnson’s Blue.’

I am always so happy to see bees busily working in my cottage garden. The perennials and herbs flourish when these important pollinators visit the garden. This summer, I will be mindful of which flowers and herbs attract the most bees to my garden. (Last summer, I carefully observed the beetles in my garden.) The garden teaches me important lessons every single day.

All Abuzz…

There is so much to learn about these important pollinators. I hope you can spend a few moments with some of my favorite garden bloggers. Each link below is definitely worth a ‘click.’ These experts have wonderful information to share about attracting bees to the garden:

Recently, Maryland gardener and beekeeper, Claire Jones, wrote about ‘The Great Backyard Bee Count’ on her blog, The Garden Diaries. I’m so grateful that Claire introduced me to this fascinating project. I’m really looking forward to collecting data in ‘The Great Sunflower Project‘ all summer long. I hope that you will be inspired to participate, too!

Along with gardeners across the United States and Canada, I will bring my cup of tea and a small notebook into my garden each morning. I will spend 15 minutes quietly observing sunflower blossoms (or the blossoms of another plant) and counting the number of bees that visit them during this time. After recording the data, I will simply enter it into the ‘The Great Sunflower Project’ website, where it will help to map the bee population across the country. (With a smart device, observers can enter the data while observing in the garden.) If you don’t grow sunflowers, you may observe any blossoms in your garden, counting the number of bees that visit. What a great opportunity to help the bees!

The founder and director of The Great Sunflower Project‘ shares the highlights:

The data that citizen scientists (gardeners) collect this summer

will provide important “insights into how our green spaces

in the urban, suburban, and rural landscapes are connected,

as well as shedding light on how to help pollinators.”

(‘The Great Sunflower Project’)

At Garden Therapy, Stephanie shares great ways to ‘Create a Bee-Friendly Garden.’ One of her ideas is to make a Bee Bath in the garden. I’m inspired to create one for our garden this weekend! If the bees have a special place to drink fresh water in the garden, they will stay even longer, pollinating our flowers and herbs. I think you will enjoy Stephanie’s other bee-friendly ideas, too!

“Bees are responsible for every third bite of food.”

“The Great Sunflower Project”

Although I don’t grow vegetables, my neighbors just across the fence have a huge vegetable garden. They always share their vegetables and I am happy to share our busy pollinators! The sweet rewards of conserving the bee population are so important to all of us. By providing bees with pesticide-free plants, fresh water, and shelter all of our gardens will flourish.

I always enjoy reading about the passions of Arkansas gardener and beekeeper, Brenda, on her blog The Blonde Gardener. Although I could never be brave enough to keep bees, I truly admire the work that Brenda and other beekeepers do. Visit Brenda for her latest Bee Update!

I am so grateful for the opportunity to learn together as we care for our environment.

Hope the bees are buzzing in your garden, too!

Have you noticed many bees in your garden this week?

What plants seem to attract them?

Bee happy!

♡ Dawn

          P.S.  Thanks so much for stopping by today. I always look forward to our visits!

14 thoughts on “All Abuzz…

  1. Dearest Dawn (and neighbor…I’m in Minneapolis!)

    We too have had our share of gusty winds, rain, sunshine, and yesterday, 80 degrees. Now this morning, more rain. But the garden is lush as can be, with an electrifying neon green in abundance.

    We have a few neighbors who are officially BEE FRIENDLY gardeners. Their gardens are shooting up purples and other friendly colorful plants that bees love, and I think we need even more. To think that so much of our food production is not a matter of human hands, but of bees and their busy work, is astounding. It’s frightening however, that if we don’t do something about our environment, that we are at great risk.

    So lovely to see you again! HAPPY GARDENING! Anita

  2. Thanks for the link-up, Dawn! I love the birdbath in the garden idea. I have one I’ve been hauling around trying to find a home for. I’ll have to check out the sunflower project as well. I always grow sunflowers and this would be a way for me to actually sit, relax, and count my bees. thanks for the great ideas.
    Brenda

  3. I love perennial geraniums, and I spent this week putting in my vegetable garden which is always lined with flowers to attract native pollinators. But, I’ve never thought of a bee bath so today I’ll create a couple and hope that keeps them coming back for food and water. Thank you for the suggestions and links. 🙂

  4. So true, Anita! I’m really looking forward to observing the bees in my garden this summer, while participating in ‘The Great Sunflower Project.’ It will be so interesting to take note of which plants bring the most bees to our garden! Creating a few Bee Baths in the garden will encourage the bees to stay longer. It’s so very important! I’m sure that you are looking forward to summer vacation! Yesterday was the last day of school here. It will be such fun to spend more time with all of my teacher friends! Wishing you sunny, creative days, dear Anita! Happy weekend! ♡

  5. So happy that you buzzed by this morning, Brenda! Your care for our bees is really inspiring! I think the Bee Baths will be a great addition to the garden. They are so easy to make. (Check out the Garden Therapy link!) Oh, I hope you will join ‘The Great Sunflower Project,’ Brenda! It will be a treat to do a bit of observation and you will be able to track your data. Their website is very interesting! Thanks for all that you are doing for the bees! ♡

  6. What a great way to attract bees to your vegetable garden, Judy! Bee Baths would be the perfect addition! They are so easy to make. (Check out the Garden Therapy link.) I’m going to make some, too! It’s officially the ‘summer of the bee’ here in my garden. I’m going to really observe my perennials and herbs to see which ones are the most popular ‘bee magnets.’ Hope our both of our gardens will be all abuzz this summer! I have really enjoyed all of your posts about your trip to the Netherlands, Judy! What a wonderful place! Happy days in the garden! ♡

  7. My pleasure, Claire! I always learn so much when I visit your blog. I’m so grateful that you introduced me to ‘The Great Sunflower Project.’ Heartfelt thanks for all that you do to help the bees, Claire. Wishing you happy days in the garden! ♡

  8. Dawn, thanks for stopping by my blog. Here’s the link to the people who made my hutch. You may find what you need from them. I am really pleased with their work.
    http://stores.ebay.com/Nature-Run-Country-Store?_trksid=p2047675.l2568

    On bees – once thought I’d like to have hives here but now decided against it. Good thing to as I’m now allergic to wasps so what would a bee sting do to me? Don’t want to find out. I’ll just plant what they need and hope they help me to pollinate my veggies.

  9. Thanks for sharing the link, Marcia! I will check out their handmade furniture. Somewhere there is a perfect small, primitive cupboard just waiting to hold my small teacup collection! The search is always part of the fun, isn’t it? You definitely don’t want to find out how you would react to a bee sting! Take care as you work in the garden. Do check out the Garden Therapy link for an easy way to create Bee Baths in the garden. I’m going to make some today for my herb garden and to place near perennials that seem to be ‘bee magnets.’ Have a happy weekend in the garden! ♡

  10. Wonderful post, Dawn – and engaging links.
    We have several bird baths, but, I’ve never thought to have a bee bath. 🙂 I have the perfect container so, will look into that today.
    As you may know, the plight of bees, and therefore our plight, has been on my own personal radar for several years now. I have plants that just a few years ago were covered with bees and now, if one or two are hanging on, I’m considering it a good day. My salvia are resplendent with blooms right now – no bees. 😦
    Off I go to see about that bee bath. Enjoy your day, Dawn.

  11. Many thanks, Penny! Today we will both be adding a Bee Bath to our gardens. Every little bit of help for our bees is of critical importance! I’m really looking forward to participating in ‘The Great Sunflower Project’ this summer. I’m going to count the bees that visit several of our perennials and herbs. I have an idea which plants attract the most bees, but I’m sure that there will be some surprises, too. It’s shocking to hear how you have noticed such a dramatic loss of bees in your own garden. That definitely brings the plight of our bees close to home! Hope our new Bee Baths will be buzzing with thirsty bees soon! Enjoy the sunshine, Penny! ♡

  12. Dawn,
    I love bees, I will definitely check out making a bee bath in our yard. We get a lot of bees and hummingbirds. It will be fun to check out the Sunflower Project, even though I don’t grow sunflowers. I’ll see if I can contribute. Cranesbill is one of my favorite hardy geraniums. Yours look health and happy.
    We have a bird bath and that brings us so much joy when we spot any variety of bird taking a bath, or drinking water.
    Such a fun time of the year in the garden.
    xo,
    Karen

  13. Hi Karen! We will both be adding a Bee Bath to our gardens. I hope you will join ‘The Great Sunflower Project.’ You can count the bees that visit any plant in your garden. All of the data that gardeners across the country collect will help scientists map the changing bee population across the U.S. and Canada. A birdbath is such a wonderful highlight in the garden. It provides entertainment for the birds AND the gardeners, too! Hope you have had some rain, Karen. Wishing you happy days in the garden! ♡

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

