Lions, Lambs, and Bunnies, too!

DSCN4504

Hi Friends!

Rabbit! Rabbit!

What a fun tradition!  I can still remember saying these words in my childhood. Saying ‘Rabbit Rabbit’ to the first people you greet on the first day of a new month will (hopefully) bring you good fortune throughout the month. Rabbits have been considered a sign of good luck for over 2,000 years. Written references to beginning the month with this superstition date back to the early 1900’s in the United States. Even President Franklin Delano Roosevelt was known to begin the month with this quirky saying. (You can ‘Listen to the Story’ in a clip from NPR news here.) Oh, no! Have you forgotten to say ‘Rabbit Rabbit’ this morning?  No worries!  Before bedtime, you can say ‘Black Rabbit’ or ‘tibbaR tibbaR.’ That’s ‘Rabbit Rabbit’ backwards!  Just wanted to welcome you with a little smile today…

10450848_10152779924496660_5009870005104839714_n

Girlfriends greet one another with ‘Rabbit Rabbit’ each month on Susan Branch’s blog. Any ‘Downton Abbey’ fans will really enjoy her wonderful recaps of each episode!

♥♥♥

We also have a weather saying for the month of March.

“March comes in like a lion, and goes out like a lamb.”

It’s definitely true here in the Midwest today! March is roaring in like a lion, bringing more snow and cold temperatures. At this very moment, I can hear snowblowers roaring in the distance. My garden is still buried under a thick blanket of sparkly, white snow. More snowflakes will fall on Tuesday. It’s truly a ‘Marshmallow World’ everywhere we look. 

Our herb

Our Herb Garden in February

...

Our snow-covered Magnolia tree

After one of the coldest, snowiest Februarys on record, so many people are celebrating the arrival of March! Today marks the start of meteorological Spring.  The First Day of Spring (March 20th) is just around the corner!!

Spring is on the way…

and I’m just helping it along!

I’ve been busy inside packing away our folk art Snowman collection

a bit earlier than most years.

It will be lovely to see them again next Winter!

Snowmen

 Bunnies and baskets

have begun popping up.

Bunnies

What fun to dream new Garden Dreams

and make new plans for this year’s growing season!

DSCN4507

It’s heavenly to pour over favorite gardening books,

while sipping a cup of tea,

as the snowflakes dance and twirl outside.

Gardening magazines are overflowing with inspiration.

DSCN4486

It’s definitely ‘Spring Fever’ time in the Midwest.

Spring is my very favorite season…

and I just can’t wait to get started digging in the soil,

cleaning up the garden beds, and planting a few new native plants!

I’m dreaming of daily walks through my perennial and herb gardens,

watching closely for tiny green shoots to appear.

Spending time in the garden always makes my heart bloom!

♥♥♥

{via Pinterest}

St. Patrick’s Day celebrations, on March 17th, spread lots of cheer.

Everyone can feel just a wee bit Irish on that day.

Our thoughts turn to parades, wearing our brightest green sweaters,

and the scent of Irish Soda Bread baking in the oven.

♥♥♥

What will you do to celebrate the small moments that make March special?

Are you making garden plans? Or are you already busy working in your garden?

Spring is already on the way!

We can all celebrate its arrival a little bit early… especially this year!

♥♥♥♥♥

Some very special celebrations to share…

Did you know that the Welsh people are celebrating a special day today? It’s St. David’s Day in Wales! My friend, Deb, is celebrating on her lovely blog. Deb will be so happy to share the festivities with you, with photos and videos of the St. David’s Day traditions in her village, in west Wales.

 

Whether you are planning a trip to Europe or enjoy armchair travel, I know you will enjoy my blog friend, Sandy Allnock’s, amazing slideshow celebrating  her recent adventures in London, Edinburgh, Paris, and Rome. Sandy is a true artist, and it shows in everything she does!

♥♥♥♥♥

{via Pinterest}

Thanks so much for visiting! 

Hope you will find a small moment to celebrate today!

Warm hugs,

♡Dawn

22 thoughts on “Lions, Lambs, and Bunnies, too!

  1. Rabbit, rabbit!
    I first learnt this greeting on October 1, 1968. My freshman year in college (when we started just after Labor Day, so, didn’t hear it in September) – and still have a best friend from then whom we share the greeting back and forth, via the internet. Tom and I, then our girls, have shared it as well. It was even one of my earliest posts, Dawn, and I discovered an entire world of rabbit, rabbit greeters.
    A wonderfully hopeful post, even as I see snow falling.
    I have these very same garden books as well; just dipped into Tasha’s garden last night. 🙂

  2. Rabbit! Rabbit! Dydd Gwyl Dewi Sant Hapus, Deb! Wishing you and your family a wonderful St David’s Day! It was such fun to pop in to see the Parade of Dragons, and to walk through the village peeking in the shop windows all decked out for this special day. I just love learning about celebrations all over the world. When our snow melts and the daffodils bloom in my garden, it will remind me of my friends in Wales. Happy St David’s Day, Deb! ♡

  3. Rabbit! Rabbit! Oh, Judy, I know that you are ready for an early Spring in New England!! Although you have been keeping busy doing wonderful things inside, Spring Fever must be setting in about now. I’m hoping that March will bring an easy, slow snow melt everywhere. Won’t it be fun to walk through our gardens the first chance we get? Have a happy weekend! ♡

  4. Rabbit! Rabbit! Penny, isn’t it funny how we remember when we first heard this quirky saying? As a child, I can remember hearing it on WGN radio, early in the morning, as we were eating our breakfast. I think that’s why it tickles me now ~ such a sweet flashback to simpler times! It’s good to know that there are so many Rabbit, Rabbit greeters! Spring is on the way! Sometimes we just have to make our own ‘Spring’ inside… until the real thing comes along. I love that we have the very same gardening books, Penny! I’m hopping between Tasha, Beatrix, and the charming Grandmother’s Gardens for inspiration! So much old-fashioned goodness! Take care, my kindred friend! Get lots of rest!

  5. Rabbit! Rabbit! Thanks for visiting, Jodi! Did March roar in like a lion on, oops, in Mars today? Your Winter photography has been spectacular. I’m sure you can’t wait to shoot some Spring flowers! Have a wonderful weekend! ♡

  6. Dare I wish you a Rabbit, Rabbit this morning, Jill? At least our gardens are well-protected by a thick blanket of snow. The rabbits have been hopping about here, leaving lots of footprints in the snow. In my garden, the troublemakers are groundhogs. They treat my garden like a salad bar! They seem to find the new plants the moment they are in the ground. In fact, I must hide the new plants in the garage when I bring them home from the garden center, or the groundhogs will nibble them down right in the pots! Wishing you an early Spring, Jill! Can’t wait to get our hands dirty in the garden! Happy weekend!♡

  7. It sure did, Dawn. It is beautiful. I can’t wait for Spring, but I am still enjoying this beautiful Winter. Rabbit Rabbit 🙂

  8. Rabbit! Rabbit! We are celebrating Spring a bit early here, Barbara. So glad you are joining in the fun! Rabbits, nests filled with eggs, baskets, and Spring flowers can add a touch of warmth to the coldest of days. When will you be able to dig in your garden in the Pacific Northwest? Have you been enjoying your greenhouse? Have a happy weekend, Barbara! ♡

  9. Rabbit! Rabbit! Good morning to you!! What a lovely post… Once March comes we know we’re on the downhill side of winter, don’t we? Yay!! Love St. Patrick’s day!! My hubby makes corn beef and cabbage! Yummm…yummm. You have so much more snow than we do (which is fine with me…lol)

    Stay well and warm!
    Gert

  10. Rabbit! Rabbit! Good morning, Gert! So happy that you stopped to visit! Wasn’t it fun to turn the calendar page this morning? St. Patrick’s Day will be fun at your house. The snow looks so pretty here, but we are ready for Spring! We just hope that it will melt very slowly. My garden will be well watered! Warm wishes for a happy weekend, Gert! ♡

  11. Rabbit! Rabbit! Can you believe it’s March already? We’ve had some rainy weather this weekend. We welcome it as we’ve been in a drought. I enjoyed hearing about the Welsh holiday. I have a dear friend who grew up in Wales. I’ll have to be sure to wish her a happy St. David’s Day.
    I hope your spring thaw begins this month.
    xo,
    Karen

  12. Rabbit! Rabbit! Hi, Karen! So true. In spite of our cold, snowy weather, February really flew by. So happy that you had some much needed rain. Your garden will be happy, too! Wasn’t it fun to learn about the special celebration in Wales? If you need a surprise for your friend one day, daffodils are the national flower of Wales. They always remind me of sunshine! I think of you often, with a light, happy heart, Karen! Hugs! ♡

  13. Day-after Rabbit Rabbit!!! 🙂 Spring is right around the corner, isn’t it?! We’ve had a pretty mild winter this year compared to last year when so many here lost many roses and shrubs due to the extreme, long-term frigid temps! I can’t believe it’s March already! I really want to buy some snowdrops to plant for next year. Would love to see them coming up here! Do you have any? It’s fun to see bunnies and daffodils making their way into our Spring décor, isn’t it? Have a wonderful day, Dawn! xo

  14. Hi, Karen! Spring is on the way… especially inside! I just couldn’t wait, so I started decorating a bit early this year. My garden is still buried under lots of snow. Somewhere, under all the snow, there are some snowdrops waiting to emerge! I can’t wait to be out in the garden! Wishing you a great week ahead, Karen! Sending hugs! ♡

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

