Making Friends…

Mary Engelbreit has captured my feelings perfectly today!

 

Hi Friends!

Rabbit! Rabbit! Sending an abundance of good wishes as November begins! It’s the perfect time to celebrate all of the friends that gather here at our little blog! Some are dear friends that live nearby, while others are dear friends that live in other parts of the U.S., and in other parts of the world. Some are brand new friends that have already touched my heart in so many ways. We are kindred spirits, one and all, and that is a wonderful thing to celebrate!

{via Pinterest}

The comments you leave each time you come to visit are such lovely gifts! Sharing our stories, encouraging one another, learning new things together, and sharing smiles makes it such fun to check in each day. I hope you can feel the joy of gathering here with friends, whether you are near or far. Our connections keep our friendships growing!

Today our little blog is six months old! Our friendships have grown through three seasons in the garden. Time flies so quickly, but spending time in the garden always seems to slow time down to a most enjoyable pace. Gardening always helps me focus on the little things ~  often the most important things in life! From our front porch swing and rocking chair, I’ve been watching our Magnolia tree. It’s easy to see how long we have been gathering together here at Petals.Paper.Simple Thymes…

DSCN2493

Early Spring

.

Late Spring

June

Early Summer

Labor Day Weekend

Late Summer

Late October

Autumn

Our friendships continue to grow and blossom here!

Thank you all for taking the time to visit

and sharing your thoughts, too!

YOU make our little blog such a happy place to gather. 

♡♡♡♡

So, of course, I had to tell you in my favorite way…

with a little card ~ made just for you!

.

One of the joys of making cards is thinking about the special recipient the whole time that I am making their card. It feels almost like a little visit. As I made this card last night, I was thinking of ALL of the friends, old and new, who visit our blog.

For our papercrafting friends: First I embossed SU ‘Crumb Cake’ CS with the Embossalicious ‘Florals’ EF, and distressed the edges with Distress ‘Tea Dye’ ink. Next I added a Wilton doily, and added the sentiment using Wplus9 ‘Hand Lettered Thanks’  dies and stamps. Then I embellished the focal point, using the SU Sizzlits ‘Little Leaves,’ the CTMH sentiment ‘Kindred Spirits,’ a CTMH corrugated star, button, and DMC floss. The paper roses were made from vintage pages of a German book. A butterfly from a SU punch was the finishing touch.

It’s amazing that kindred spirits gather here from so many continents. We wish our friends in the Northern Hemisphere a wonderful Autumn day, while we wish our friends in the Southern Hemisphere a lovely Spring day. Although many friends visit quietly, I can see all of the countries where they live each time I peek at the statistics for our blog. It always thrills me and it humbles me. I am so happy that we have somehow found one another, in this great, big, wonderful world! ♡

 

Heartfelt thanks for being here…

and making our blog so much fun!

 

.

Happy November days!

♡ Dawn

16 thoughts on “Making Friends…

  1. Dawn, I love your website! It’s so very warm and welcoming – jut like you! I’ve been working on making my “craft dungeon” into a “craft haven” for several days now. I know it’s going to take some time but it will be worth it to be able lay hands on something I need without delay.
    I’m glad we’re back in touch. Have a wonderful day tomorrow, sweet lady!

  2. Oh, Jo! I’m so glad that you found our blog! You will love having your ‘craft haven’ all organized ~ especially now that the cold weather has arrived! It will be so nice to have a special place to create inside. See you soon, Jo! Autumn blessings! ♡

  3. Good morning DAWN! What a kind post to celebrate the most important element of a blog (in my opinion) : FRIENDS. Whether far away, close by, readers, pals or close friends, a blog is a place to meet and share our passions. I have enjoyed coming to visit you so much. Your magnolia tree is SO BEAUTIFUL! I am going on SEVEN years on the first of January and I wish you as much fun, discovery and friendship as I have experienced. Be well and have a great Sunday! Anita

  4. Dawn, what a wonderful post. I feel the same way, just humbled by all the friendships I have found around this small world of ours.

    Blessings to your day,
    Gert
    PS Happy 6 month Blogiversary!!

  5. Six months old already! Penblwydd Hapus i Ti, Ffrind! You have made your journal such a warm and welcoming place for Kindreds to gather. Here’s to the next six months and then some!
    ~~~waving~~~

  6. Hi Anita! Heartfelt thanks for your sweet words! Isn’t it wonderful to know that blogs can be special gathering places for friends ~ old and new, near and far? I am always so inspired by your posts that make me imagine new ideas and possibilities beyond my dreams! It’s so amazing that you have been gathering friends to your blog for almost seven years! What a gift you share with so many friends with each new post, Anita! Wishing you a wonderful week! ♡

  7. Hi Gert! We both feel the same sense of joy and wonder from blogging! Time passes so quickly when we are gathering with kindred spirits! Sending Autumn blessings, Gert! ♡

  8. Hi Deb! I was inspired by some of the best! Isn’t it amazing to meet new friends who enrich our lives just by being there? Blogging has enabled me to meet friends (like you!) who fill me with joy! What a gift!! Wishing you a lovely day today! Waving back! ♡

  9. Thanks, Deb! It’s such fun to sit on the front porch swing near our Magnolia! It feels like a bit of ‘paradise’ in the Spring. It is beautiful in each season! Have a happy week! ♡

  10. Dawn,
    Happy 6 month anniversary. I agree, there are so many kindred spirits to be found in this world of blogging. It maintains my faith that there are so many kind and generous people in the world. It’s fun to see your garden throughout the various seasons.
    I’m so happy to have found your site.
    xo,
    Karen

  11. Heartfelt thanks, Karen! It’s always so nice to share our ideas through our blogs. I’m so grateful that the world of blogging has brought us together! Wishing you lovely November days in California! ♡

  12. Beautiful post, Dawn! Thanks for thinking of all of us and for making that sweet card. You really have a crafting talent. I’m so thankful I came across your blog; you always know how to brighten my day. Hope you’re having a great week ❤

  13. Hi Chris! Thanks so much for your sweet words. I’m still a beginner at paper crafting, so I’m trying to be very brave by sharing pictures of cards. It’s scary at first! I’m hoping that my skills will grow. I’m so thankful that we are blog friends, Chris! I love sharing this exciting time in your life. I know your days are busy ones, but you always make time for the important things in life. So proud of you! Sending sunshine! ♡

  14. Hi Suzanne! Your kind words have truly touched my heart! It has been so nice to make such special blog friends here over the past six months. Such a blessing! Our Magnolia is completely bare now, but it is already filled with the buds of next year’s flowers! We also discovered a bird’s nest that had been hidden among the leaves all year long. I’m so happy that you stopped to visit. Warm hugs, Suzanne! ♡

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

