Let’s Celebrate!

 

Hi Friends!   Welcome OWH Card Makers!

What a happy day! Today card makers from around the world are joyfully making cards in celebration of  World Card Making Day 2014. This marks the ninth annual worldwide celebration of one of our favorite creative pastimes. What a blessing to have a hobby that spreads happiness to our families and friends… and brings us such joy!  Card makers also love to create cards for people we haven’t met, offering our gratitude and support. It warms my heart to make cards for  two wonderful organizations: Operation Write Home and the Semper Fi Family Platoon. Small acts of kindness ~ for those who sacrifice so much!

Today I’m excited to join the blog hop party at Operation Write Home!  As a new card maker, I am so honored to support OWH, as we help our Heroes stay connected with home. I knew the very moment that I discovered OWH Executive Director, Sandy Allnock (aka ‘The Scrap Wrangler’), that I wanted to help OWH support Americans deployed around the world.

While our needs are changing with the drawdown of troops, there ways that you can help out!  Even if you are not a card maker, there are two important ways that you can help! Writing ‘Any Hero’ Mail lets Americans serving far from home know that we are grateful for their service, keeping us safe and preserving freedom. Financial donations will help with the huge cost of shipping boxes of our handmade cards from OWH headquarters in Washington state, to all of the places where Americans are serving around the globe.

In celebration of World Card Making Day 2014,

OWH is making LOVE cards today!

Here is a peek at my LOVE card ~ neutrals inspired by nature, as I walked along the Prairie this week…

Cardstock: SU Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla,  Patterned Paper: 'Stella Rose' My Mind's Eye,  Embossing Folders: Buttons~Darice, Waves~Lifestyle Crafts,  Stamps: Dragonflies~Art Neko, Sentiment~ Taylored Expressions,  Ink: Memento 'Tuxedo Black', Distress Ink~'Tea Dye,' ,  Punches: SU Circle punch, Fiskars Border punch,  Vintage button, hemp                                                        Inspired by Lisa Curcio

Cardstock: SU Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla, Patterned Paper: ‘Stella Rose’ My Mind’s Eye, Embossing Folders: Buttons~Darice, Waves~Lifestyle Crafts, Stamps: Dragonflies~Art Neko, Sentiment~ Taylored Expressions, Ink: Memento ‘Tuxedo Black’, Distress Ink~’Tea Dye,’ , Punches: SU Circle punch, Fiskars Border punch, Vintage button, hemp.  Inspired by Lisa Curcio

 Cards for OWH are blank inside.

Our Heroes will write a message, straight from their hearts,

for family or friends at home.♡

Cards and letters sent home often become family ‘treasures,’ that tell an important part of a family’s history. Letters that my dad sent home to my mom, while serving in Korea, are tied with a ribbon and tucked safely away. Our stories matter! They document the good times, as well as the very difficult times, in our lives.

It’s heartwarming to think that the cards made by OWH card makers will also become family treasures ~ displayed on mantels, preserved in scrapbooks, and tucked under children’s pillows at night. When one family member is away from home serving our country, the entire family is making a huge sacrifice! We look forward to a time when American’s won’t be sent into harm’s way. Until that time, we can offer our military families our gratitude and support…

It’s time to hop along to visit a few of the wonderful OWH card makers

who create cards for our Heroes!

           Click here to begin!

 

Thanks for hopping by today!

Autumn blessings!

♡ Dawn

38 thoughts on “Let’s Celebrate!

  1. Gosh! I had no idea about this at all ~ so thank you for letting us know {maybe I’m the wrong side of The Pond for this?} and wishing all card makers every success with their makes today, which I know {as an ex~military spouse} will be deeply appreciated ~~~
    I love the card you made, and the story behind it, coming from your Prairie walks ~~~
    ~~~waving~~~

  2. I am loving your card! The button embossing folder is one that I have, so I am going to pin your card so I can make one like it later!

  3. Wonderful card! I love the soft colors and card design. And that button embossing folder is so cute. I’ve never seen that one before. Thanks for supporting Operation Write Home!

  4. Don’t you love it when another person shows you how to best use some of your craft supplies? That’s what you’ve done with this great card. It’s perfect for either a man or woman, also. Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. Oh, thank you, Elsie! It’s sweet to think that it will bring happiness to a family separated by military service. Happy WCMD! ♡

  6. What a fun card! I have the button embossing folder and have never used it. It’s perfect! The little banners add so much also. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Hi Kathy! Thanks to your son for his service in the Marines. Your whole family is serving our country! I’ll come visit again! ♡

  8. Good afternoon, Dawn! What a great idea! I know I could do this, but I have no time for this….I have to go and read and be ready for a poetry group on Tuesday, but this looks like so much fun! LOVELY!

  9. Hi Anita! You already have so many creative adventures! I knew this was one of the ways I could continue to ‘make a difference’ in retirement. It’s such an honor to help the military families who sacrifice so much. It makes me happy to help out… even in small ways! ♡

  10. What a sweet peaceful card…love all the elements as they work so perfectly together. Thanks for the inspiration!

  11. What a nice card! The coordinating button with the background from the embossing folder really adds such a great touch. The Apron Lace border punch is my all-time favorite! As a crafter, you might be able to understand that I can still remember the day I got it! I won a prize on an online crop and didn’t know what was in it. Wow was I happy when I opened the box and saw the Apron Lace punch! Anyway, I really like your card and thank you for bringing back my happy moment =)

  12. Hi Marianne! I completely understand it! Apron Lace is my favorite border punch, too! It’s sweet and simple, and the one I use most often! Loved your story! ♡

  13. I love the soft colors and textures of your card and the yummy button really adds to your focal point. Above all, I love your wonderful post; it inspires me to work even harder at our craft!

  14. Hi Sherry! Heartfelt thanks for your sweet words. It’s a wonderful day to remember all the reasons why we love making cards! ♡

  15. Wow, I had no idea there was a World Card Making Day! Yours looks great. I bet whoever receives that card is going to be so happy and will surely treasure it. ❤

  16. Hi Chris! Just had to celebrate World Card Making Day this year! I do hope the recipient will smile and feel lots of love. Happy Sunday, Chris! ♡

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

