New Growth… in So Many Ways!

 

May 1st ~ New Beginnings Watching each day as plants emerged under our Magnolia, after such a long winter!

May 1st ~ New Beginnings
Watching each day as plants emerged under our Magnolia, after such a long winter!

 

First Week of June ~ New Growth! Colorful blossoms add such happiness each day!

June 1st ~ New Growth… in so many ways
Colorful blossoms add such happiness to each new day!

 

Hi Friends!

So glad that you are here! We’re celebrating the small moments that make each day special!  Today, our blog Petals.Paper.Simple Thymes is exactly one month old! You, dear friends, are a big part of this small celebration! ♡ I always say “our blog,” since it certainly wouldn’t be as much fun without you here!

As sunshine and showers have nurtured our garden and helped it to flourish over the past four weeks, your visits and kind words have helped our quiet, little blog begin to grow, as well.  You are the sunshine and showers that help us grow here at Petals.Paper.Simple Thymes! I must send so much gratitude out to everyone who stops by for a visit during these busy Springtime days!

I’ve grown, too! Of course, I’m discovering how to write posts, add media, and how to use the WordPress tools. But much more important than learning how a blog works, I’m discovering what it means to blog!  Sharing and connecting with old friends and new friends is why blogging has become important to me. What could be sweeter than discovering kindred spirits, both near and far?

I knew I had stumbled upon a wonderful thing the first evening that I clicked “publish” on my first post. Within the hour, a visitor from New Zealand was reading my words. What an amazing feeling ~ both surprised and grateful! In the past few weeks, dear lifelong friends have come often to visit. New friends have shared their thoughts, as we have watched our friendships grow and flourish.

Our visitors have come from Germany, Canada, the UK, Russia, Australia, and all parts of the U.S. I’ve met such interesting people ~ gardeners from the Bronx, Savannah, an island in Puget Sound, New England, and closer to home in the Midwest. Friends, new and old, have shared the stories of their quilts, their homes, and memories of simpler times with all of us. Readers have shared interesting book titles. So many lovely Girlfriends have dropped by from Susan Branch’s blog to visit. Lots of papercrafters have visited us, too. (I promise to post card making adventures very soon! It’s just so hard in the Springtime, when one passion takes you outside to dig in the dirt, while another other passion must wait for quiet time inside!) My heart sings with gratitude for everyone who has come to visit!

Anne of Green Gables (by L.M. Montgomery) says best, what I’m feeling in my heart today…

“Kindred spirits are not so scarce as I used to think.

It’s splendid to find out there are so many of them in the world.” 

Anne, you were so right… and I am so grateful!

While you are here, let’s take a little walk to see the new growth in our garden on this first day of June. It’s hot and humid today, so a tall glass of iced tea will refresh us as we walk… and soak up the magic of Springtime!

Deep purple Clematis is climbing up the arbor.

Deep purple Clematis is climbing up the arbor, with new blooms each day.

This Rhododendron plant came from our childhood home. It feels like we both grew up together, with love and nurturing from my mom! ♡

This Rhododendron plant came from our childhood home. It feels like we both grew up together, with love and nurturing from my mom! ♡

Our Peonies are in bloom now. In a few days, the palest pink Peonies will bloom, too!   It will be such fun to cut Peonies to fill a crock for the front porch!

Our Peonies are in bloom now. In a few days, pale pink Peonies will bloom, too. It will be such fun to cut Peonies to fill a crock for the front porch!

Dianthus blossoms add a hint of delicate pink  to the garden this week.

Dianthus blossoms add a hint of delicate pink to the garden this week.

Shasta Daisies will always be one of my favorites ~ so fresh and simple!

Shasta Daisies will always be one of my favorites ~ so fresh and simple!

DSCN2656

 

Thanks for coming to visit on this special day! You are cherished, sweet friends!

♡ Dawn

P.S.   Do you read a lot of different blogs?  Do you like to leave comments or just visit quietly?

 

10 thoughts on “New Growth… in So Many Ways!

  1. Happy 1st month Anniversary, Dawn! I love our visits and look forward to each one to see what you will be sharing.xo

  2. Two coincidences…first, I am named Anne after “Anne of Green Gables” That is remarkable as Mom had only read one American novel in England and had no idea that her daughter would become an American!…Second, I’ve just finished planting and hanging summer baskets in the back garden. Am off tomorrow to a local nursery to finish the job and your photos have given the necessary inspiration. I so enjoy reading your blog. It is the only one I’ve ever been interested in following. You are opening a new world!
    Love, Anne of Sherman Oaks!!!!!

  3. YOU ARE NOW A MONTH OLD? Congratulations Dawn! MANY HAPPY years of blogging to you! And talk about new growth; here in Minneapolis, thanks to the two days of downpours of rain, our gardens are so lush! Isn’t this the best time of year? Rejoice and be glad, for the Lord is GOOD! Anita

  4. Hi Anita! Spring is definitely my favorite time in the garden! There are so many changes each day. Wishing you lovely days in your garden! Heartfelt thanks for all of the good wishes!♡

  5. Sweet Anne of Sherman Oaks! I never knew that ‘my’ Anne with an ‘e’ was named for Anne of Green Gables! It all makes perfect sense… my delightful friend! ♡ So happy that both of you decided to become teachers! I’m eagerly looking forward to the next book in the series. Planting summer containers is always one of my happiest days of the year! It’s like watercoloring with real flowers! Hope you will send some garden photos soon. I’m so excited that you shared a comment, Anne! It’s my greatest hope that all of the special people can ‘meet’ here ~ like a little tea party (b.y.o. tea and scones)! ♡

  6. Thanks so much, Barbara! It’s great to have you here! We are having a rainy morning today. So, more flowers will be blooming each day! Happy gardening! ♡

  7. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving your kind comments! They are so appreciated, and I’m thrilled to be here for this is a lovely place to find. We have some very similar flowers and plants, did you notice? Don’t those dianthus smell amazing? So clove~y and deep!
    Oh, and Happy One Month Birthday too!

  8. Hi Debs! It’s so great to see you here! I’ve been enjoying your Garden in the Shire, in Wales, for such a long time! Now you can visit my garden in the Midwest, too. It’s fun to discover that we grow some of the same plants. Waving back, from this side of the Pond! ♡

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

